Man United 3 Galatasaray 3

Eric Cantona

Man­chester Uni­ted 3 Gal­ata­s­aray 3, Old Traf­ford, UEFA Cham­pi­ons Lea­gue Sec­ond Ro­und Fir­st Leg, Oct­ober 20, 1993. Af­ter knock­ing out Kispest Hon­ved by a 5-3 ag­greg­ate mar­gin in the pre­vi­ous ro­und of the Cham­pi­ons Lea­gue, reign­ing Pre­miership Cham­pi­ons Man­chester Uni­ted were held to a 3-3 draw by Gal­ata­s­aray in the fir­st leg of the sec­ond round. 

Man­chester Uni­ted went in­to the Cham­pi­ons Lea­gue en­counter on the back of a 2-1 Pre­miership tri­umph over Tot­ten­ham Hot­spur at Old Traf­ford, where­as Gal­ata­s­aray had edged out Kocael­ispor by a 5-4 score at the Ali Sami Yen Sta­dium in the Turk­ish Fir­st Foot­ball Lea­gue in their pre­vi­ous en­counter. For­mer Eng­land in­ter­na­tion­al Bry­an Rob­son sent Man­chester Uni­ted in­to an early 1-0 lead af­ter on­ly three min­utes of ac­tion be­fore an own goal from Ger­man cent­ral de­fender Re­in­hard Stumpf made it 2-0 to The Reds in the 13th min­ute of the mid­week fix­ture. The Yel­low Reds hit back in­stantly as Tur­key U21 stri­ker Arif Er­dem re­duced the de­fi­cit for the vis­it­ors wi­th a fe­ro­cious shot which flew pa­st Den­mark in­ter­na­tion­al goal­keeper Pe­ter Schmei­chel and in­to the top-left cor­ner of the net in the 16th min­ute, and two min­utes pa­st the ha­lf-hour ma­rk Ste­ve Bru­ce net­ted an own goal to level the score. Fol­low­ing the break, Switzer­land in­ter­na­tion­al Ku­bilay Turky­il­maz put Gal­ata­s­aray ahead for the fir­st time in the mat­ch in the 64th min­ute of the play, on­ly for French for­ward Eric Can­tona to equal­ise for Man­chester Uni­ted wi­th a well timed clo­se ran­ge ef­fort on 81 min­utes. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Pe­ter Schmei­chel, Ste­ve Bru­ce, Ga­ry Pal­lister, Lee Mar­tin, Ry­an Gig­gs, Paul In­ce, Roy Ke­ane, Bry­an Rob­son, Lee Sharpe, Eric Can­tona, Ma­rk Hug­hes. Sub­stitutes: Mi­ke Phelan, Di­on Dub­lin, Ga­ry Ne­ville, Nicky Butt, Leslie Sealey. Gal­ata­s­aray Te­am: Hayret­tin De­mirbas, Re­in­hard Stumpf, Bu­lent Kork­maz, Ugur Tu­tun­eker, Suat Kaya, Hamza Hamzao­glu, Falko Gotz, Tugay Ker­i­mo­glu, Ku­bilay Turky­il­maz, Hakan Sukur, Arif Er­dem. Sub­stitutes: Yusuf Altıntas, Volkan Arslan, Er­dal Keser, Mert Kork­maz, Nezih Bologlu.


Front Page