Belgium 9 Gibraltar 0

Romelu Lukaku

Bel­gi­um 9 Gibral­tar 0, Mau­rice Du­frasne Sta­dium, FIFA Wor­ld Cup Quali­fier Mat­ch, Au­gust 17, 2017. Man­chester United´s Ro­melu Lu­kaku re­gistered a hat-trick as Bel­gi­um de­mol­ished the min­nows of Gibral­tar by 9-0 at Mau­rice Du­frasne Sta­dium in Liege. The Bel­gians were 6-0 up at the in­ter­val and the ho­me te­am ad­ded three more goals in the sec­ond half.

Na­poli for­ward Dries Mer­tens re­cor­ded the open­ing goal for Bel­gi­um in the 15th min­ute of ac­tion af­ter a mis­take from Gibral­tar goal­keeper Der­en Ibrahim, whi­le Par­is Saint-Ger­main de­fender Tho­mas Meuni­er ad­ded a sec­ond three min­utes la­ter. The Bel­gians now smelled blood and Ro­melu Lu­kaku made it 3-0 to the hosts when the Man­chester Uni­ted stri­ker head­ed ho­me in the 21st min­ute be­fore Bor­us­sia Dortmund´s Axel Wit­sel net­ted wi­th an as­ton­ish­ing bi­cycle-kick on 27 min­utes. Bel­gi­um kept up the pres­sure and Lu­kaku put The Red Dev­ils five goals ahead as he con­ver­ted a low cross from Meuni­er af­ter 38 min­utes of play, and then Chel­sea wing­er Eden Haz­ard sco­red a sixth goal for the red shirts wi­th a clo­se ran­ge ef­fort in the last min­ute of the fir­st ha­lf. Fol­low­ing the re­start, Tho­mas Meuni­er fou­nd the net in the 60th and 67th min­utes be­fore Lu­kaku hit the fi­nal goal of the day from the pen­alty spot on 84 min­utes af­ter Man­chester City mid­fielder Kev­in De Bruyne had be­en fouled in­side the area by Gibral­tar United´s Erin Bar­nett who was right­fully red carded by Ir­ish mat­ch of­fi­cial Neil Doyle. Bel­gi­um Te­am: Thibaut Cour­tois, Toby Alder­weireld, Tho­mas Meuni­er, Vin­cent Kom­pany, Jan Ver­tonghen, Yan­nick Car­rasco, Eden Haz­ard, Axel Wit­sel, Ro­melu Lu­kaku, Kev­in de Bruyne, Dries Mer­tens. Sub­stitutes: Koen Casteels, Si­mon Migno­let, Lau­rent Ci­man, Jor­dan Lu­kaku, Ste­ven De­four, Moussa Dem­bele, Tho­mas Ver­maelen, Leander Dendon­ck­er, Thor­gan Haz­ard, Youri Tiele­mans, Chris­ti­an Ben­teke, Michy Bats­huayi. Gibral­tar Te­am: Der­en Ibrahim, Ry­an Cas­ciaro, Joseph Chipo­lina, Roy Chipo­lina, Erin Bar­nett, Jean-Car­los Gar­cia, Jayce Mas­car­en­has-Olivero, Jam­ie Bosio, Liam Walk­er, Lee Cas­ciaro, An­thony Her­nandez. Sub­stitutes: Kyle Gold­win, Jam­ie Robba, Alain Pons, Ja­son Pu­sey, An­thony Bardon, Ro­bert Guilling, Paul Podesta, Sykes Garro, Evan Green, Jam­ie Coombes, John-Paul Du­arte, Mikey Yome.


Front Page