Everton 1 Manchester U 2

Ruud Van Nistelrooy

Ever­ton 1 Man­chester Uni­ted 2, Good­ison Park, Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue, May 11, 2003. Sir Al­ex Ferguson´s Man­chester Uni­ted roun­ded off the Cham­pi­on­ship win­ning sea­son of 2002-03 in style by de­feat­ing Ever­ton at Good­ison Park. Kev­in Camp­bell gave The Tof­fees the lead af­ter eight min­utes of ac­tion, but goals from Da­vid Beck­ham and Ruud van Nistel­rooy on 42 and 77 min­utes re­spect­ively han­ded Uni­ted a well-de­served 2-1 vic­tory in the end.

The Mer­sey­siders went in­to an early lead when Scot­land in­ter­na­tion­al Ga­ry Nay­smith sent a short flag-kick to Dan­ish mid­fielder Tho­mas Gravesen who­se sub­sequent cross was met by for­mer Ar­senal, Not­ting­ham For­est, and Trabzon­spor stri­ker Kev­in Camp­bell who head­ed the ball pa­st Man­chester Uni­ted goal­keeper Roy Car­roll and in­to the back of the net to make the score­board at Good­ison Park read 1-0 in fa­vour of the ho­me te­am. The al­ready crow­ned Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue win­ners hit back late in the fir­st pe­riod, tho­ugh, when mid­field play­maker Da­vid Beck­ham sco­red wi­th a well ex­ecuted free-kick from some twenty yards out to equal­ise for the vis­it­ing si­de on­ly three min­utes be­fore the sound of the ha­lf time whistle. Wi­th a mere twelve min­utes left of the fi­nal fix­ture of the Barclay­card Pre­miership sea­son, Ever­ton de­fender Alan Stubbs fouled Dutch in­ter­na­tion­al Ruud van Nistel­rooy in­side the eight­een-yard area and the nat­ur­al born marks­man sub­sequently stepped up to the spot him­self and be­at Three Li­ons goal­tender Rich­ard Wright to re­cord his 25th goal of the 2002-03 cam­paign. Ever­ton Te­am: Rich­ard Wright, Da­vid Un­sworth, Ste­ve Wat­son, Alan Stubbs, To­ny Hi­b­bert, Ga­ry Nay­smith, Joseph Yobo, Lee Cars­ley, Tho­mas Gravesen, Kev­in Camp­bell, Way­ne Roo­ney. Sub­stitutes: Aless­andro Pis­tone, Nick Chad­wick, Duncan Fer­guson. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Roy Car­roll, John O’Shea, Mi­kael Sil­vestre, Paul Scho­les, Wes­ley Bro­wn, Rio Fer­dinand, Da­vid Beck­ham, Roy Ke­ane, Ole Gun­nar Sol­skjaer, Ruud van Nistel­rooy, Ry­an Gig­gs. Sub­stitutes: Lau­rent Blanc, Phil Ne­ville, Quin­ton Fortune.


Front Page