Japan 0 South Korea 2

Man­chester Uni­ted mid­field play­maker Ji-Sung Park, who had ini­ti­ated his in­ter­na­tion­al ca­reer at the re­l­at­ively young age of nine­teen at the Sydney Olympics in 2000, opened the scor­ing ac­count for So­uth Korea af­ter on­ly six min­utes of ac­tion as he ma­naged to be­at three op­pos­ing de­fenders be­fore he fou­nd the back of the net from the edge of the eight­een-yard area. The So­uth Koreans then sealed the away win over Take­shi Okada´s Ja­pan si­de thanks to a well ex­ecuted pen­alty from Monaco for­ward Chu-young Park in the very last min­ute of nor­mal time. Born in Seoul, Park had star­ted out his club ca­reer wi­th the My­ongji Uni­ver­sity te­am in 1999 be­fore he made a move to Ja­pan to play for Kyoto Purple Sanga the fol­low­ing year. The mid­fielder then fol­lowed So­uth Korea Head Coach Guus Hid­dink to PSV Eind­hoven where he won the Dutch Ere­divis­ie Cham­pi­on­ship in bo­th 2002-03 and 2004-05. Fol­low­ing 65 Ere­divis­ie ap­pear­ances for The Red and Whi­tes, he was ev­entually bro­ught to Man­chester Uni­ted by Sir Al­ex Fer­guson for a trans­fer fee of £4 mil­lion at the be­gin­ning of the 2005-06 cam­paign. At Old Traf­ford, Park amassed nine­teen goals in 134 Pre­mier Lea­gue ga­mes for Uni­ted and won the Pre­miership title wi­th the club in 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, and 2010-11. Ja­pan Te­am: Sei­go Naraza­ki, Yuto Nagatomo, Yuji Na­kaza­wa, Yuki Abe, Yas­uhito Endo, Makoto Hasebe, Keisuke Honda, Yas­uy­uki Konno, Shun­suke Na­kamura, Shinji Okaza­ki, Yoshito Ok­ubo. Sub­stitutes: Yoshi­katsu Kawagu­chi, Kengo Na­kamura, Eiji Kawashi­ma, Daiki Iwamasa, Yui­chi Ko­mano, Go­toku Sakai, Shinji Ka­gawa, Kazuya Yamamura, Takay­uki Mor­imoto, Kisho Yano. So­uth Korea Te­am: Sung-Ry­ong Jung, Jung-Soo Lee, Tae-Hwi Kwak, Young-Pyo Lee, Ji-Sung Park, Jung-Woo Kim, Sung-Yueng Ki, Chung-Yong Lee, Du-Ri Cha, Keun-Ho Lee, Ki-Hun Yeom. Sub­stitutes: Woon-Jae Lee, Young-Kwang Kim, Dong-Jin Kim, Hy­ung-Il Kim, Hy­ung-Min Shin, Seung-Yeul Lee, Beom-Seok Oh, Bo-Ky­ung Kim, Nam-Il Kim, Chu-Young Park, Jung-Hwan Ahn.


Front Page