Man United 4 Sheff Wed 0

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

Man­chester Uni­ted 4 Shef­field Wed­nesday 0, Old Traf­ford, Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue, Au­gust 11, 1999. Af­ter a 1-1 away draw to Ever­ton on the open­ing week­end of the 1999-2000 cam­paign, Man­chester Uni­ted be­at Shef­field Wed­nesday 4-0 in their fir­st ho­me ga­me of the sea­son thro­ugh goals by Paul Scho­les, Dwight Yorke, Andy Cole, and Ole Gun­nar Solskjaer.

The Man­chester Uni­ted play­ers were ap­plauded by the ho­me sup­port­ers ahead of their fir­st fix­ture at Old Traf­ford since com­plet­ing The Tre­ble at Nou Camp Sta­dium in Bar­celona. Sir Al­ex Ferguson´s men star­ted on the front foot and the hosts rushed in­to an early lead when Paul Scho­les con­ver­ted a fine cross ball from Ry­an Gig­gs in the ninth min­ute of the en­counter. Man­chester Uni­ted kept on at­tack­ing and The Reds doubled their ad­vant­age thanks to Trin­id­ad and To­bago in­ter­na­tion­al Dwight Yorke who head­ed ho­me an­oth­er good cross from Gig­gs wi­th ten min­utes re­maining of the fir­st frame. Fol­low­ing the ha­lf-time break, Andy Cole net­ted a third goal for Man­chester Uni­ted in the 54th min­ute be­fore Nou Camp hero Ole Gun­nar Sol­skjaer re­gistered a fourth for the ramp­ant ho­me out­fit six min­utes from time. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Ma­rk Bos­nich, Hen­ning Berg, Jaap Stam, De­nis Ir­win, Phil Ne­ville, Da­vid Beck­ham, Ry­an Gig­gs, Roy Ke­ane, Paul Scho­les, An­drew Cole, Dwight Yorke. Sub­stitutes: Teddy Sher­ing­ham, Nicky Butt, Ole Gun­nar Sol­skjaer, John Curtis, Rai­mond van der Gouw. Shef­field Wed­nesday Te­am: Pavel Sr­nicek, Pe­ter Ather­ton, Andy Hinch­cliffe, Jon New­s­ome, Emer­son Thome, Des Walk­er, Niclas Al­ex­an­dersson, Pet­ter Rudi, Dan­ny Son­ner, Gilles De Bilde, Ger­ald Sibon. Sub­stitutes: Benito Car­bone, Lee Briscoe, Rich­ard Cress­well, Ste­ve Haslam, Kev­in Pressman.


Manchester United Quickfacts

Man­chester Uni­ted out­classed Shef­field Wed­nesday to the tune of a 6-1 score at Old Traf­ford in the Pre­mier Lea­gue on the 1st of Nov­ember 1997 thanks to a double each by Teddy Sher­ing­ham and Ole Gun­nar Sol­skjaer and a single from Andy Cole plus an own goal by Hills­bor­ough mid­fielder Ma­rk Pembridge.


Front Page