Man City 0 Man United 1

Cristiano Ronaldo

Man­chester City 0 Man­chester Uni­ted 1, The City of Man­chester Sta­dium, Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue, May 5, 2007. As was ex­pec­ted be­fore the start of The Man­chester Der­by, the en­counter be­tween Man­chester City and Man­chester Uni­ted at East­lands turned out to be a rather tough and phys­ic­al af­fair. The Man­chester Reds ev­entually emer­ged vic­tori­ous thanks to a well-taken pen­alty-kick from Cris­ti­ano Ron­aldo four min­utes pa­st the ha­lf-hour mark.

Stu­art Pearce´s Man­chester City, who had failed to score at ho­me in the Pre­mier Lea­gue since New Year’s Day when they de­feated Ever­ton 2-1, could have gone in­to an early lead af­ter on­ly fif­teen min­utes of play, but Emile Mpenza´s some­what weak ef­fort was ex­cel­lently saved by Neth­er­lands in­ter­na­tion­al goal­keeper Ed­win van der Sar. Then, in the 34th min­ute of pro­ceed­ings, Man­chester Uni­ted were cor­rectly awar­ded a pen­alty by mat­ch of­fi­cial Rob Styles when rock­et-heeled for­ward Cris­ti­ano Ron­aldo was bro­ught down to earth by Man­chester City left back Mi­chael Ball in­side the eight­een-yard area. The Por­tuguese stepped up to the spot him­self and con­ver­ted by send­ing East­lands goal­keeper An­dreas Isaks­son the wrong way. It was Man­chester City´s turn to re­ceive a pen­alty, how­ever, when Mi­chael Ball was groun­ded by Eng­land in­ter­na­tion­al de­fender Wes Bro­wn in­side the box af­ter 79 min­utes of con­stant ac­tion, but Dari­us Vas­sell’s sub­sequent spot-kick was bril­liantly bloc­ked by Van der Sar. Man­chester City Te­am: An­dreas Isaks­son, Sylvain Dis­tin, Nedum Onuoha, Rich­ard Dun­ne, Mi­chael Ball, DaM­ar­cus Beas­ley, Di­et­mar Ham­a­nn, Steph­en Ire­land, Mi­chael John­son, Emile Mpenza, Dari­us Vas­sell, Sub­stitutes: Sun Ji­hai, Tre­vor Sin­clair, Paul Dick­ov, Nicky Weaver, Geor­gios Samaras. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Ed­win van der Sar, Wes­ley Bro­wn, Rio Fer­dinand, Ne­manja Vid­ic, Gab­riel Hein­ze, Mi­chael Car­rick, Paul Scho­les, Ry­an Gig­gs, Cris­ti­ano Ron­aldo, Alan Smith, Way­ne Roo­ney. Sub­stitutes: To­masz Kusz­czak, Dar­ren Fletch­er, Ole Gun­nar Sol­skjaer, Kier­an Richard­son, John O´Shea.


Front Page