Manchester U 2 Chelsea 1

Nemanja Vidic

Man­chester Uni­ted 2 Chel­sea 1, Old Traf­ford, Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue, May 8, 2011. Javi­er Her­nandez re­cor­ded the open­er in­side the fir­st min­ute be­fore Ne­manja Vid­ic doubled the lead on 23 min­utes, and al­though Frank Lam­pard pulled one back for the West Lon­doners fol­low­ing the re­start, the goal proved to be just a con­sol­a­tion for the mu­sic hall fall guys.

Chel­sea had the chan­ce to go top of the Pre­mier Lea­gue ta­ble on goal dif­fer­ence wi­th a win over Man­chester Uni­ted at Old Traf­ford, but The Reds net­ted al­ready af­ter 36 sec­onds when a mag­ni­fi­cent pass from mid­field work­horse Ji-Sung Park fou­nd Javi­er Her­nandez who calmly put the ball pa­st away shot stop­per Petr Cech and in­to the back of the net. And mid­way thro­ugh the fir­st ha­lf, Ry­an Gig­gs pro­vided a bril­liant cross for Ne­manja Vid­ic who­se fierce head­er gave Cech no chan­ce to save what­soever. Chel­sea had a couple of qual­ity goal scor­ing op­por­tun­it­ies be­fore the ha­lf-time whistle, but The Blues fou­nd them­selves un­able to be­at Man­chester Uni­ted cus­todi­an Ed­win van der Sar. And even tho­ugh Frank Lam­pard ma­naged to score for the West Lon­don club in the 69th min­ute of pro­ceed­ings, Sir Al­ex Ferguson´s troops con­tin­ued to dom­in­ate the clash and held on for a ho­me vic­tory. Af­ter over­com­ing Chel­sea by 2-1, Man­chester Uni­ted now need­ed to take just one point from their last two ga­mes to clinch the Pre­miership title. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Ed­win van der Sar, John O’Shea, Ne­manja Vid­ic, Rio Fer­dinand, Fa­bio, Va­lencia, Mi­chael Car­rick, Ry­an Gig­gs, Ji-Sung Park, Way­ne Roo­ney, Javi­er Her­nandez. Sub­stitutes: Jon­ny Evans, Chris Small­ing, An­der­son, Nani, Di­m­it­ar Ber­batov, Paul Scho­les, To­masz Kusz­czak. Chel­sea Te­am: Petr Cech, John Terry, Da­vid Luiz, Bran­islav Ivan­ovic, Ash­ley Cole, John Mikel, Mi­chael Es­si­en, Frank Lam­pard, Didi­er Dro­gba, Sa­lomon Kalou, Florent Malouda. Sub­stitutes: Nic­olas Anelka, Yossi Benayoun, Fer­nando Torres, Al­ex, Paulo Fer­reira, Ramires, Ross Turnbull.


Front Page