Man United 0 Newcastle 1

Robin Van Persie

Man­chester Uni­ted 0 New­castle Uni­ted 1, Old Traf­ford, Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue, Dec­ember 7, 2013. Man­chester Uni­ted lost their sec­ond ho­me ga­me in a row as they were beaten 1–0 by New­castle Uni­ted at Old Traf­ford. Af­ter los­ing to New­castle, Da­vid Moyes´s lads now fou­nd them­selves in ninth place in the ta­ble, thir­teen points be­hind lead­ers Arsenal.

Af­ter be­ing beaten 1-0 by Ever­ton at Old Traf­ford in mid­week, Man­chester Uni­ted suf­fered yet an­oth­er ho­me de­feat wi­th a 1-0 loss to New­castle Uni­ted. The last time New­castle had beaten The Reds at Old Traf­ford was on the 12th of Feb­ruary 1972 when the St James´s Park club won by 2--0 cour­tesy of goals from Stew­art Bar­row­clough and John Tu­dor. In this mat­ch, Man­chester Uni­ted en­joyed plenty of de­cent scor­ing op­por­tun­it­ies to take an early lead, but the ho­me te­am were denied by sev­er­al good saves from away goal­keeper Tim Krul. As the ga­me pro­gressed, New­castle slowly, but surely, began to wear down the ho­me de­fence and The Geordies ev­entually ma­naged to break the de­fens­ive dead­lock on the hour-ma­rk when Fran­ce in­ter­na­tion­al Moussa Sis­soko stormed in­to the eight­een-yard area and fou­nd for­mer Lille fa­vour­ite Yo­han Cabaye who power­ed the ball pa­st Spain U23 goal­keeper Da­vid de Gea and in­to the bot­tom left-hand cor­ner of the net  to make it 1-0 to the vis­it­ing te­am. Man­chester Uni­ted had the ball in the back of the net thir­teen min­utes la­ter, on­ly for Robin van Persie´s head­er to be cor­rectly ruled out for off­side by as­sist­ant ref­er­ee Si­an Mas­sey. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Da­vid de Gea, Ra­fael da Silva, Jon­athan Evans, Ne­manja Vid­ic, Pat­rice Ev­ra, Phil Jones, Tom Clev­er­ley, Ad­nan Januzaj, Robin van Per­sie, Lu­is Nani, Javi­er Her­nandez. Sub­stitutes: An­ders Linde­gaard, Rio Fer­dinand, An­tonio Va­lencia, Ash­ley Young, Oli­veira An­der­son, Wil­fried Za­ha, Dan­ny Wel­beck. New­castle Uni­ted Te­am: Timothy Krul, Dav­ide San­ton, Mi­ke Wil­li­am­son, Vurnon An­ita, Fab­ri­cio Co­loccini, Math­ieu Debuchy, Cheik Ti­ote, Yo­han Cabaye, Moussa Sis­soko, Yoan Gouf­fran, Lo­ic Remy. Sub­stitutes: Ro­bert El­li­ot, Ma­pou Yanga-Mbi­wa, Jo­nas Gu­ti­er­rez, Hatem Ben Arfa, Gab­riel Ober­tan, Shola Ameo­bi, Papiss Cisse.


Front Page