Manchester Utd 1 Soton 1

Robin Van Persie

Man­chester Uni­ted 1 South­ampton 1, Old Traf­ford, Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue, Oct­ober 19, 2013. Man­chester United´s dis­ap­pointing form con­tinued as they could on­ly man­age a share of the points ag­ainst South­ampton at Old Traf­ford. Robin van Per­sie drove Uni­ted in­to the lead af­ter twenty-six min­utes, but a late goal from Ad­am Lal­lana denied the hosts a win. 

Man­chester Uni­ted had to settle for a 1-1 draw wi­th Maur­i­cio Pochettino´s South­ampton des­pite dom­in­at­ing the pos­ses­sion of the ball for most of the mat­ch. The Man­cuni­ans ev­entually push­ed them­selves in­to the lead as Ad­nan Januzaj sent a thro­ugh ball to his fel­low front­man Way­ne Roo­ney who­se ef­fort was stopped by the away goal­keeper, but Robin van Per­sie re­acted in­stantly to power the re­bound in­to the back of the net on twenty-six min­utes. A mere two min­utes la­ter in the Pre­mier Lea­gue ga­me, Roo­ney al­most doubled the lead for Uni­ted, but his fierce clo­se ran­ge shot hit the cross­bar. Then fif­teen min­utes in­to the sec­ond frame of the tie, it was Van Persie´s turn to hit the wood­work when his well pla­ced head­er made the cross­bar sing. It was So­ton who had the last laugh, how­ever, as De­jan Lovren head­ed a Ja­mes Wa­rd-Prowse cor­ner kick to Ad­am Lal­lana who sent the ball pa­st Da­vid de Gea and in­to the net wi­th just one min­ute re­maining of the en­counter at Old Traf­ford. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Da­vid de Gea, Ra­fael da Silva, Phil Jones, Jon­ny Evans, Pat­rice Ev­ra, Mi­chael Car­rick, Mar­ou­ane Fel­laini, Lu­is Nani, Way­ne Roo­ney, Ad­nan Januzaj, Robin van Per­sie. Sub­stitutes: Wil­fried Za­ha, Ry­an Gig­gs, Chris Small­ing, Shinji Ka­gawa, Javi­er Her­nandez, Dan­ny Wel­beck, An­ders Linde­gaard. South­ampton Te­am: Ar­tur Boruc, Nath­aniel Clyne, Jose Fonte, De­jan Lovren, Lu­ke Shaw, Mor­gan Schneider­lin, Ste­ven Dav­is, Vic­tor Wan­yama, Ad­am Lal­lana, Dani Os­valdo, Jay Rodrig­uez. Sub­stitutes: Jos Hoo­iveld, Guly do Pra­do, Ja­mes Wa­rd-Prowse, Calum Cham­bers, Jack Cork, Rick­ie Lam­bert, Kelvin Davis.


Front Page