Manchester U 3 Arsenal 2

Marcus Rashford

Man­chester Uni­ted 3 Ar­senal 2, Old Traf­ford, Eng­lish Pre­mier Lea­gue, Feb­ruary 28, 2016. Man­chester Uni­ted be­came the fir­st club to win 50 top-flight ho­me ga­mes ag­ainst Ar­senal as they over­came The Gun­ners by 3-2 at their Old Traf­ford gro­und. Man­chester born marks­man Mar­cus Rash­ford fou­nd the back of the net twice for Uni­ted in the fir­st ha­lf be­fore An­der Her­rera sco­red a third goal for the ho­me te­am five min­utes pa­st the hour mark. 

Louis van Gaal´s si­de had lost their pre­vi­ous Pre­mier Lea­gue mat­ch 2-1 ag­ainst re­leg­a­tion can­did­ates Sun­der­land at The Sta­dium of Light and des­per­ately need­ed a win to keep up wi­th the pace set­ters. To the ut­ter re­lief of Van Gaal, Mar­cus Rash­ford han­ded Uni­ted a 1-0 lead as he ham­mered an un­stoppable shot from in­side the area pa­st Ar­senal net cus­todi­an Petr Cech and in­to the goal in the 29th min­ute of the tussle. And the young for­ward sco­red his sec­ond goal of the day just three min­utes la­ter when he head­ed ho­me a fine cross ball from Jesse Lin­gard. For­mer Man­chester Uni­ted play­er Dan­ny Wel­beck re­duced the de­fi­cit for Ar­senal five min­utes ahead of the break, on­ly for An­der Her­rera to make it 3-1 to the hosts as he con­ver­ted a cut-back from Rash­ford wi­th a fierce fin­ish in the 65th min­ute of the Sunday ga­me. A goal from Mesut Oz­il af­ter 69 min­utes gave the North Lon­doners some re­newed hope, but Uni­ted kept the vis­it­ors at bay to se­cure a 3-2 ho­me vic­tory. Man­chester Uni­ted Te­am: Da­vid de Gea, Mar­cos Rojo, Guillermo Varela, Da­ley Bli­nd, Mor­gan Schneider­lin, An­der Her­rera, Mi­chael Car­rick, Mem­ph­is De­pay, Ju­an Ma­ta, Jesse Lin­gard, Mar­cus Rash­ford. Sub­stitutes: Pad­dy McNair, Tim Fosu-Mensah, An­dreas Pe­reira, Ad­nan Janu­zaj, Joe Ri­ley, Ja­mes Weir, Ser­gio Rom­ero. Ar­senal Te­am: Petr Cech, Hec­tor Beller­in, Gab­riel Paulista, Lau­rent Kos­cielny, Nacho Mon­real, Aar­on Ram­sey, Fran­cis Coquelin, Mesut Oz­il, Alex­is San­chez, Theo Wal­cott, Dan­ny Wel­beck. Sub­stitutes: Kier­an Gibbs, Per Merte­sack­er, Mo­hamed Elneny, Al­ex Iwobi, Joel Camp­bell, Olivi­er Giroud, Da­vid Ospina.


Front Page