Mexico 5 El Salvador 0

Javier Hernandez

Mex­ico 5 El Sal­vador 0, The Cow­boys Sta­dium, CONCACAF Gold Cup Group Sta­ge, June 5, 2011. Man­chester Uni­ted stri­ker Javi­er Her­nandez re­gistered a hat-trick as Mex­ico be­at El Sal­vador in front of an 80,000 crowd in Ar­ling­ton, Texas. Efrain Juarez and Aldo de Nigris also joi­ned the score­sheet in the 5-0 Gold Cup Group Sta­ge win over The Blue and White.

Fol­low­ing a goal­less fir­st ha­lf, Efrain Juarez put Mex­ico in­to the lead in the 56th min­ute be­fore Is­rael Castro re­place­ment Aldo De Nigris ad­ded an­oth­er goal af­ter a fine in­di­vidu­al dis­play to make the score read 2-0 to The Tri­col­or two min­utes la­ter. Jose Manuel De La Torre´s play­ers con­tin­ued to at­tack and Old Traf­ford fa­vour­ite Javi­er Her­nandez re­cor­ded the third goal of the one-sided mat­ch when the in­form cent­ral at­tack­er head­ed ho­me a cross ball on the hour-ma­rk. The Mex­ic­ans now dom­in­ated the ga­me com­pletely and Chi­charito net­ted ag­ain as he latched onto a long thro­ugh pass and pla­ced the ball pa­st over­worked El Sal­vador cus­todi­an Mi­guel Montes and in­to the bot­tom left cor­ner of the net in the 67th min­ute of the clash to stretch the ad­vant­age fur­ther. Then, some five min­utes in­to stop­page time, Her­nandez was fouled in­side the area by Mar­vin Gon­zalez, who was sub­sequently red carded by ref­er­ee En­rico Wijngaarde, and the in­dus­tri­ous stri­ker stepped up to con­vert the pen­alty him­self to seal a com­pre­hens­ive 5-0 tri­umph for Mex­ico ag­ainst El Sal­vador. Mex­ico Te­am: Guillermo Ochoa, Efrain Juarez, Fran­cisco Rodrig­uez, Hec­tor Moreno, Car­los Sal­cido, Ger­ardo Tor­rado, Is­rael Castro, Pablo Bar­rera, An­dres Guardado, Giovani dos San­tos, Javi­er Her­nandez. Sub­stitutes: Aldo de Nigris, Ra­fael Mar­quez, An­gel Reyna. El Sal­vador Te­am: Mi­guel Montes, Mar­vin Gon­zalez, Xavi­er Gar­cia, Lu­is Anaya, Reyn­aldo Her­nandez, Víct­or Turcios, Den­nis Alas, Jai­me Alas, Ro­dolfo Zelaya, Eliseo Quintanilla, An­dres Flores. Sub­stitutes: Gil­berto Baires, Shawn Mar­tin, Rudis Corrales.


Front Page