England 1 Spain 0

Spain pressed high up the pitch from the start, but Vi­cente del Bosque´s men were out of luck in front of goal. And al­though Eng­land clearly missed the ser­vices of high fly­ing Man­chester Uni­ted marks­man Way­ne Roo­ney, the well play­ing and con­fid­ent ho­me play­ers re­fused to be in­tim­id­ated by The Red Fury. Four min­utes in­to the sec­ond pe­riod of the friendly en­counter As­ton Vil­la for­ward Dar­ren Bent nod­ded a dan­ger­ous free-kick from Man­chester City mid­fielder Ja­mes Mil­ner onto stand-in skip­per Frank Lam­pard who head­ed ho­me from clo­se ran­ge wi­th the the Spain goal­keeper firm­ly rooted to his spot. Fol­low­ing the goal from Lam­pard, the Span­ish play­ers con­tin­ued to keep up the pres­sure as they des­per­ately tried to even the sco­reline. Des­pite dom­in­at­ing pos­ses­sion for long stretches, the vis­it­ing te­am fou­nd them­selves un­able to find the back of the net dur­ing the course of the con­test. Wi­th 64 min­utes gone in the clash, Eng­land Head Coach Fa­bio Capello de­cided to re­place Dar­ren Bent wi­th Man­chester Uni­ted stri­ker Dan­ny Wel­beck who ma­naged to add flair and pace to the ga­me. Driv­ing re­lent­lessly for­ward, Spain came clo­se to lev­el­ling the score at the end of nor­mal time, but the hosts re­mained de­fi­ant un­til the fi­nal whistle. Eng­land Te­am: Joe Hart, Jo­leon Le­scott, John­son, Phil Ja­gielka, Phil Jones, Ja­mes Mil­ner, Ash­ley Cole, Frank Lam­pard Ju­ni­or, Scott Par­ker, Theo Wal­cott, Dar­ren Bent. Sub­stitutes: Kyle Walk­er, Ga­ry Ca­hill, John Terry, Gar­eth Bar­ry, Jack Rod­well, Leigh­ton Baines, Stew­art Down­ing, Ad­am John­son, Dan­iel Stur­ridge, Dan­ny Wel­beck, Bob­by Zamora, Scott Car­son, Da­vid Stock­dale. Spain Te­am: Casil­las, Al­varo Ar­be­l­oa, Ger­ard Pique, Ser­gio Ramos, Jordi Al­ba, Ser­gio Bus­quets, Da­vid Silva, An­dres Ini­esta, Xabi Alonso, Xa­vi, Da­vid Vil­la. Sub­stitutes: Nacho Mon­real, Puy­ol, Cesc Fab­re­gas, Je­sus Navas, Ju­an Ma­ta, Raul Al­biol, Santi Cazorla, Fer­nando Llorente, Fer­nando Torres, Pepe Re­ina, Vic­tor Valdes.


Front Page