Netherlands 6 Scotland 0

Ruud Van Nistelrooy

Neth­er­lands 6 Scot­land 0, Am­s­ter­dam Arena, UEFA Euro­pean Cham­pi­on­ship Play-Off Sec­ond Leg, Nov­ember 19, 2003. Scot­land had beaten Hol­land by 1-0 in the fir­st leg at Hamp­den Park thanks to a goal from Ever­ton at­tack­er Ja­mes Mc­Fad­den, but The Tartan Ter­ri­ers were soundly de­feated in the re­turn leg at Am­s­ter­dam Arena. The Fly­ing Dutch­man were three goals up at the ha­lf-time break and ad­ded three more in the sec­ond pe­riod to win 6-0. 

Ajax play­er Wes­ley Sneijder han­ded Hol­land the lead as the mid­fielder ham­mered the ball in­to the goal from 25 yards out on 13 min­utes. Af­ter 32 min­utes, PSV Eindhoven´s An­dre Oo­ijer nod­ded the hosts in­to a 2-0 lead be­fore Man­chester Uni­ted marks­man Ruud van Nistel­rooy head­ed ho­me to make it 3-0 to Dick Advocaat´s men af­ter 36 min­utes of ac­tion. In the sec­ond ha­lf of the play-off ga­me, Van Nistel­rooy sco­red his sec­ond goal of the even­ing when he bril­liantly lobbed the ball over Scot­land cus­todi­an Rab Douglas just five min­utes af­ter the re­start, and four min­utes pa­st the hour ma­rk ex­per­i­enced de­fender Frank de Bo­er con­ver­ted a flag-kick to score the fifth goal for the Dutch. The fi­nal goal of the mat­ch came just a couple of min­utes la­ter as Van Nistel­rooy com­pleted his tre­ble when the pro­lif­ic for­ward vol­leyed the ball pa­st Douglas and in­to the back of the net to con­firm a 6-0 vic­tory for the Neth­er­lands ag­ainst Ber­tie Vogts´s Scot­land. Neth­er­lands Te­am: Ed­win van der Sar, Mi­chael Reiz­i­ger, Wil­fred Bouma, An­dre Oo­ijer, Phil­lip Co­cu, Edgar Dav­ids, Marc Over­mars, Wes­ley Sneijder, Andy van der Meyde, Ra­fael van der Vaart, Ruud van Nistel­rooy. Sub­stitutes: Ron­ald Wa­ter­reus, Frank de Bo­er, Ar­jen Rob­ben, Clar­ence Seedorf, Patrick Klu­ivert, Roy Makaay, Pierre Van Hoo­ij­donk. Scot­land Te­am: Rab Douglas, Ste­ven Press­ley, Lee Wilkie, Jack­ie Mc­Namara, Ga­ry Nay­smith, Bar­ry Fer­guson, Dar­ren Fletch­er, Gav­in Rae, Neil Mc­Cann, Ja­mes Mc­Fad­den, Paul Dick­ov. Sub­stitutes: Jon­athan Gould, Mau­rice Ross, Ste­ven Cald­well, Gra­ham Al­ex­an­der, Don Hut­chison, Stevie Craw­ford, Ken­ny Miller.


Front Page